Rescues by State: VA, VT, WA, WI, WY

February 17, 2010

Disclaimer: I have no personal knowledge of most of these organizations. As with any type of charitable organization, there are a few bad apples out there, so please do some research to ensure that your donations go to a good rescue who will use them well. This article provides great information about selecting a good rescue.

Rescue Name Website State
Blue Horse Mukwa Equine Retirement
& Rescue Center
http://www.bluehorsemukwa.org/
VA
Dream Catcher Farm Horse Sanctuary http://www.horsesanctuary.com/
VA
Eagle Hill Equine Rescue http://www.eaglehillfarm.com/
VA
Equine Rescue League http://www.equinerescueleague.org/
VA
Free Spirit Equine Rescue Shelter http://www.freespiritequinerescue.org/
VA
Gingersnap Girls Equine Education and Rescue Foundation http://www.gingersnapgirls.org/
VA
Lost Fantasy Stables & Animal Rescue http://www.lostfantasystables.org/
VA
National Horse Protection Coalition http://www.horse-protection.org/
VA
Roanoke Valley Horse Rescue http://www.rvhr.com/
VA
Rugby Creek Animal Rescue http://rugbycreekanimalrescue.org/
VA
Traveller’s Rest Equine Elders Sanctuary http://www.equineelders.org/
VA
White Bird Appaloosa Horse Rescue http://www.whitebirdapps.com/
VA
Spring Hill Horse Rescue http://www.springhillrescue.com/
VT
Chez Chevaux Thoroughbred Horse Rescue http://www.chezchevaux.org/
WA
Cowgirl Spirit Rescue Drill Team http://www.csrdt.org/
WA
Equine Aid http://www.equineaid.net/
WA
Equine Rescue Association http://equinerescueassociation.com/
WA
For The Horse Equine Rescue http://www.forthehorse.net/
WA
Hooved Animal Rescue of Thurston County http://har-otc.com/
WA
Hope for Horses http://www.hopeforhorses.net/
WA
People Helping Horses http://www.peoplehelpinghorses.org/
WA
Rodeo City Equine Rescue http://www.rodeocityequine.com/
WA
Save a Forgotten Equine http://www.safehorses.org/
WA
Second Chance Horse Rescue http://www.schrar.org/
WA
Second Chance Ranch http://www.secondchanceranch.org/
WA
Wind Haven Horse Rescue http://www.windhavenhorserescue.com/
WA
Trusting Spirit Horse Rescue http://www.trustingspirithorserescue.com/
WA
American Standardbred Adoption Program http://www.4thehorses.com/
WI
J&D 2nd Chance Horse Rescue Ranch http://www.2ndchancehorserescue.org/
WI
Midwest Horse Welfare Foundation http://www.equineadoption.com/
WI
Refuge Farms http://www.refugefarms.org/
WI
Rolling Rock Rescue & Retirement http://www.rollingrockrescue.com/
WI
Spirit Horse Equine Rescue and Education Center http://spirithorseequinerescue.org/
WI
St. Francis Horse Rescue & Retirement
Farm
http://www.stfrancishorserescue.org/
WI
Jackson Hole Horse Rescue http://www.jacksonholehorserescue.org/
WY
Reaching Hands Ranch http://www.reachinghandsranch.org/
WY
Wyoming Horse Rescue http://www.wyominghorserescue.com/
WY